As the sun sets…

Whew! I’m posting kinda late tonight.

Isaac and I went up to Olympic Sculpture Park – part of the Seattle Art Museum- to catch the sunset, which coincidentally was today’s challenge!

The last few days have been really beautiful here, sunny and warm, so I figured what with this challenge on the horizon (no pun intended!) Murphy’s Law would cause today to end up rainy and sunset-less. I’m so happy to say I was wrong. It was another lovely day in the Puget Sound area!

Enjoy!

The most beautiful bagels in the world

I love bread. Any kind of bread. Hard bread, soft bread, seasoned bread, buttered bread, bread covered in cheese, plain bread. Loaves, buns, sticks, you name it, I love it.

Today I tried a bread I have always wanted to try, but never had the nerve. Bagels. Doesn’t sound hard, you say? Well, you’re right. They’re easy. Way easier than I thought they would be. I guess I was intimidated because I had seen somewhere that you have to do all this complicated stuff like floating them in boiling water. It sounds kind of stupid now, I guess I intimidate easily! Anyway, I made a dozen whole wheat bagels. I don’t think I’ll ever buy store bought again.

I followed a recipe I saw on Pinterest (so many recipes to try, so little time!) from bakingbites.com

Her instructions and corresponding photos are great, very easy to follow and see that you’re doing it right. Mine didn’t turn out quite as nice looking as hers, but my taste buds didn’t mind!

I substituted whole wheat flour for white and only used about a half of a tablespoon of salt. Though this recipe only called for 1 tablespoon of sugar, I want to try it with honey instead. And then of course I started thinking about all the other other things I could add to these little gems. What came to mind: chocolate chips, peanut butter, garlic (yum), onions, cheese…..what’s your favorite kind of bagel?

Excuse me while I go eat a bagel.

Hurray for the trees!

Tall Trees

I love my new fisheye lens! I just got it for Christmas, and I’m still playing around with it, seeing what it can do.

I took this on the way up to Poo Poo Point yesterday. I was looking for ways to capture the blue sky for my daily photo challenge, but in the end I got this great shot for today.

My other favorite

Also, I just got my newest toy today, a set of Kenko extension tubes. I put them on my 18-55mm lens, but I can’t get it to focus. I think I read somewhere that they don’t automatically  focus with my camera body, a D5000. but I couldn’t get it to focus even on manual. I tried my 55-200 lens and they seem to work okay there…could there be something wrong with my 18-50 lens or is it just with the user? Any thoughts? Do you have extension tubes?