Tripods

I’m in the market for a new tripod. I have been using Isaac’s dad’s old tripod, and it has been great to have, though it is now kinda starting to fall apart. The legs are all a bit stiff, not easy to extend or retract. Now, one in particular won’t extend at all. I have tried to take it apart to clean it, but I can’t figure out how to get in there enough to really fix the problem.

And so, I need a new one! Yay! I love buying new camera things.

I was looking at this one on Amazon, it’s made my a company called Vista Explorer, and I chose it mostly because of its price ($28) and it got fairly good reviews for a cheaper tripod.

Then, I went to Best Buy to check out what they have, and I found this one that I really liked…it’s a Sunpak tripod, with the pistol grip rotating head. I do like the pistol grip head. Unfortunately it’s almost twice as much as the first one at $52. I came home hoping to find this one online for cheaper, but it doesn’t seem to be sold anywhere but Best Buy. Even B&H doesn’t have this particular one.

I did find this one on B&H though, another Sunpak. But it looks like it is rated to hold less weight than the other Sunpak. So scratch that.

So, my problem now is, which one do I go with?

I am leaning towards the Sunpak because it seems to be a bit better quality, but then I think “50 bucks?”

What do you think? What tripod do you use? What do you like/dislike about it?

Trash is everywhere

I have to add a photo too! I’ve been doing a lot of wandering of the neighborhood lately, and so I’ve I’ve started to really notice all the trash everywhere. You don’t see it so much from the car, but it is EVERYWHERE. Gah.

Stop!

I have decided to utilize one of my mom’s expressions from my childhood.

“If you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all!”

By which she would mean that my sisters and I should say only nice things about other people, and keep the negative comments to ourselves. For now, though, I am using it mean, if I can’t think of anything clever or witty to add to a post, I’m not going to try and force it, but rather just let the photo speak for itself.

That being said, here is today’s photo. :)