A garden of my own

“A garden requires patient labor and attention. Plants do not grow merely to satisfy ambitions or to fulfill good intentions. They thrive because someone expended effort on them.” -Liberty Hyde Bailey

Back in January I was so excited to sign up for a plot in the community garden here in Renton. Our apartment is small, and though it has a little deck, we don’t get much light there. I was looking forward to being able to plant and grow veggies to eat, as well as the community of other people who shared my same goal.

If I lived in Medford, I could grow goodies in my parents backyard. My mom usually has something growing back there that’s good to eat. Or, I could have raided my sister’s garden patch. Last summer I helped my niece, Emmaline, to plant and grow her own veggies.

But all that is hard to do when you’re a 7 and half hour drive away.

Last week was the orientation meeting for the community garden, and when we got there I got the sad news. I was only on the wait list. The wait list?! Gah. The guy doling out plots said he would call me if something opened up, but it’s been about 4 days now and he hasn’t called.

So today I took action.

I drew up this plan:

The Plan

I designed it to sit on and hang off of the deck railing, which will allow two of the three planter spaces to get more light than they would it they just sat on the deck itself.

And today, Isaac and I went to Home Depot to give it life.

The guy who helped us was great, he showed us different types of wood I could use, and cut the pieces into the lengths I needed.

The basic shape

6 hours later = completion

Three planter spaces, 3 feet long

It's new home

I’m pretty impressed that it worked out so well. I really wanted it to work, and it does! Also, I’m pretty tired. It’s mentally draining  -but in a good way- to figure something like this out!

It’s so cool to see my idea turn into something real!

Bring it on, Spring! Now I’m ready for you!

10 thoughts on “A garden of my own

    • Here’s what I’m thinking: in the outside planter, tomatoes, bell peppers. In the middle planter (it’s a bit shallower) broccoli, carrots, herbs (cilantro, basil, etc). And in the inside one stuff like lettuce and spinach (i need to look into this more, but I don’t think that stuff needs as much sun). do you have any suggestions that I should add?

  1. Pingback: March 9th, Day 68: I’m growing birds! | Abra Alani

  2. Pingback: April 8th, Day 98: Kale Starts | Abra Alani

I want to hear from you! I love comments, and suggestions. Please leave all of yours, here:

