Mysteries of bokeh

Bokeh defined: a Japanese term for the subjective aesthetic quality of out-of-focus areas of a photographic image

Today’s challenge: bokeh

I thought it would be cool to try my hand at some of the DIY bokeh lenses I’ve seen around the internet, so I got out my black construction paper and scissors and set to work.

Unfortunately my lens largest aperture is just 3.5, which made it harder (note to self, save up money for 1.8 lens AND that tripod…) I ended up using my 55-200mm lens with the 36mm extension tube for the majority of these.

In most of my photos the bokeh cover I made was visible. I have read in the DIY tutorials that it shouldn’t be, and I’m thinking it’s because my lens aperture isn’t large enough.

Here is a smattering of examples from today’s attempt:

It’s kind of random, a mini cilantro plant in front of colorful Christmas lights, but it’s what I had to work with, under the circumstances! :)

One thought on “Mysteries of bokeh

  1. Pingback: Alphabe-Thursday: B is for bokeh! | Abra Alani

I want to hear from you! I love comments, and suggestions. Please leave all of yours, here:

