February 29th: A day at the beach

Happy Leap Year Day!

Isaac and I went up to Lincoln Park (insert joke here) today!

While it was cloudy, I think I was still able to get some good photos.

And as an added bonus, there was an awesome swing-thing, that would likely be able to project a small child a good 40 feet!

The swing of doom

And the photo of the day (I’ll be posting a few more after a bit):

Isaac versus Tree

The original

I’ve been enjoying playing around with Photoshop lately. Trying different things, testing different methods…

I liked the SOOC version of this picture, but I applied a lomo effect after using the smart brush tool, and I like it even more.

The only problem I’m facing is having multiple copies of the same photos with only slightly different changes. I can’t decide which I like the best, so I end up keeping 3 or 4 versions! I know, I should just buckle down and force myself to pick one version I like best, or maybe two, the original and a B&W. Anyone else having this problem, and if so, how do you deal with it?

Sweet Shot Day

9 thoughts on “February 29th: A day at the beach

  1. I’m an old-school “purist”. When I was actively into photography (don’t have the eyes for it anymore), I wanted the artistry to come from the combination of my eye and the camera’s eye. Yes, amazing things can be done with Pshop, but doctored photos do not showcase the skill of the photographer so much as the skill of the computer operator. You have a great eye for landscape and nature; your photos don’t need to be enhanced.

    • Thanks Debi! I’m with you on the need for the original photo to be good, rather than depend on an editing program to fix the problems. I try to take photos that are good on their own!
      It’s fun to try different things, like the above photo, but I’m not interested in dramatically altering all my photos. Feels too much like cheating.
      (Also, I just realized you’re on WordPress too! Would it be okay for me to add a link to your site on my page?)

  2. Yeah, there’s a HUGE difference between a photographer who knows their camera and can *take* amazing images, and a photographer who knows Photoshop and can *make* amazing images. There’s one up north who MAKES amazing images, but it’s all in the processing, and the more she posts her edits, the less I admire her.

    I don’t think you need fancy stuff. I prefer the SOOC image above, but that’s just me. I always overshoot, several variations of each image, but I’ve trained myself to cull really well. The people I’ve done photos for don’t know which ones I’ve culled, only the ones I’ve presented. Anyway. Ramble over.

    • Hi Sister!
      ..wait a second..I’m north of you…hmm..:p
      I know what you mean, about your clients. Like the expression goes, ‘what you don’t know won’t hurt you!’
      I too have gotten fairly good at keeping only one of a similar looking set of photos (often they don’t make it out of the camera). I always keep the SOOC, and sometimes I’ll keep an additional version, like the selective color one above.

  3. My goal for this year is to choose ONE from each angle/perspective and to delete any others that have small differences. It is really hard, but it makes me feel more decisive, and I like that.

    I’m also trying to take fewer pictures of the same scene/pose; to take one purposeful photo the right way the first time. That’s even harder than deleting extraneous images. ;)

    • I know what you mean, though for me it’s a lot easier to get rid of photos with similar composition than it is to get rid of photos I like, like this one, that I’ve applied different techniques to, like B&W, for example. Does that make sense? I’m definitely seeing the benefits of culling out old photos, my 365 project already holds about 11GB of my hard drive (I just had to double check that number), and it’s only been a couple months! Often I’ll delete in camera, while I’m shooting somewhere, if the lighting is clearly wrong. That saves me from having to look at each one on the computer at the end of the day.

  4. Trust me…purging pictures is tough. Never had that problem with film but with digital and ones ability to shoot hundreds of shots to get one decent picture, well…..storage dictates the tough decisions. Love the selective color in the shot above. Cheers.

  5. Bonsoir,J’ai télécharger des films de Bruce Willis, mais le son est en Anglais (il n’y a qu’un seule piste audio).Je voulais savoir s’il vous plait, s’il existe un logiciel qui permet de transformer les pistes audio d’anglais en français.Je vous remercie pour votre aiddiCore.alement,Mr BLONDEL Philippe

I want to hear from you! I love comments, and suggestions. Please leave all of yours, here:

