April 19th, photo of the day: Cemetery Life (an oxymoron?) and Alphabe-Thursday: V is for Vinson

I ran a few errands this morning, and as I approached the turn into the  WinCo parking lot I noticed a small cemetery on the side of the road. It’s surrounded on three sides by the WinCo parking lot, and on the other side is busy 212th.

From the car, I could see a handful of grave markers surrounded by a field of bright dandelions, and I knew I had to check it out!

It is the Saar Pioneer Cemetery, and was established in 1873 when former King County Councilman Peter Saar needed a place to bury his wife Margaret after she died giving birth to their 8th child. A swollen river kept him from burying her in the nearest cemetery.

Over time, other locals were added to the cemetery, the last known burial in 1949.


I’ve been racking my brain for something that starts with the letter V for Alphabe-Thursday, and I was lucky enough to come upon it in this little cemetery as well.

Her name was Myrtle Vinson. She lived from 1869 to 1908.

Thanks for being there for me, Myrtle. *wink*

Jenny Matlock

For those of you in the Puget Sound area, now looks like a good time to head to Mt Vernon to check out the tulips! I’ve been watching this map for the last couple weeks and there are currently about 5 tulip fields in bloom!

11 thoughts on “April 19th, photo of the day: Cemetery Life (an oxymoron?) and Alphabe-Thursday: V is for Vinson

  1. Yes, V was a hard one this time!
    I have never made it down to Mt Vernon for the tulips – every year I plan it and every year something gets in the way.
    Cemeteries – I can’t resist a ramble in any I come across.

    • Hmm..Mt VERNON would have counted for today’s challenge (I didn’t even think of it until now, haha). I too am a sucker for a good cemetery. Do you know of other good ones in the area? :D

  2. What a lovely post. I loved your photos. Excellent work. Thanks for sharing it with us. Can I ask what type of camera you use? I am in the process of buying a new camera and there are so many to choose from, I don’t want to buy one and then regret it. I want to be able to take good quality shots for my blog, using a light box and also good quality outdoor shots.

  3. This was a very intriguing post for the letter “V”…

    I am always curious about a person’s life when I see an old gravemarker like this one…

    Thanks for linking.

    A+

I want to hear from you! I love comments, and suggestions. Please leave all of yours, here:

