Scavenger Hunt Sunday – May 27th

Good Morning! I really liked this week’s prompts, mostly because they weren’t typical; they were more about photographing moments or stories. Definitely more challenging!

Today’s challenges:

  1.     Beneath Your Feet
  2.     Capturing Movement
  3.     Texture
  4.     Face Your Fears
  5.     Currently

My responses:

I stuck my feet in a cool stream this afternoon. What’s beneath my feet? I don’t know, maybe fish, crabs, or snakes! Oh my!

I had a lot of fun capturing the movement of the cars heading into and out of the city on Friday night

I have a couple texture ones I liked, which do you like better?

Texture of a broken truck window

Texture of a feather

This one is from the archives. Isaac and I, along with my dear friend Ashley traveled to Peru last November. As part of our visit to Machu Picchu, we got up extra early to hike Huayna Picchu (the mountain you see in the background of all the famous Machu Picchu photos). Now, I’m not a fan of heights. That’s my fear. Hiking UP was no problem, because it was still so foggy I couldn’t see how far up we actually were climbing. However, as we headed back down, hours later, I could ONLY see how far up we were! :) Some of those Incan stairs are steep! You can see in this photo where people are walking down some of the steps, and you can see Machu Picchu in the distance. Was it worth it? DEFINITELY! :)

Currently, there are LOADS of this cotton-like fluff in the air, carrying seeds from nearby cottonwood trees (Thanks Marisa!). What an appropriate name. What tree is it, you ask? I don’t know! Anyway, right now it looks like it has recently snowed in some places, the fluff is so pervasive!

Check out all the other fun entries at Ramblings and Photos! Next week’s challenges were submitted by yours truly, so go take a look! Thanks, Ashley, for using my suggested prompts! :)

21 thoughts on “Scavenger Hunt Sunday – May 27th

  1. The cotton-like fluff is from the—are you ready?—cottonwood trees. Allergy sufferers all over the NW crouch inside when that stuff starts floating in the air. The sniffles have already started here.

    I love the texture of the feather!

    • Thank you! I’d been meaning to get up to that viewpoint for months now, and only this combined challenge with another long exposure challenge I’m working on right now motivated me enough to actually DO it! :)

    • Thanks Abby! It was so beautiful up there. I was getting frustrated not being able to really capture what it was like. I guess I did okay with that one though!

    • Right? Guh. It was tummy-turning, to say the least. It’s so interesting how different people develop different fears. I know it’s mostly irrational, but I’m not planning any sky diving trips any time soon (or ever)! Thanks for stopping by and commenting, Susan!

  2. I have enjoyed reading your site so I’ve nominated you for the Illuminating Blogger Award for illuminating, informative blog content. You can check out the details at my site … http://foodstoriesblog.com/illuminating-blogger-award/ … Hope you’re having a great Memorial Day weekend!

I want to hear from you! I love comments, and suggestions. Please leave all of yours, here:

