I “gnocchi” you’re going to want to try this….

Thanks to Terra and Brian for sharing this recipe!

I really didn’t realize gnocchi was so simple. It’s great, because after you try this basic recipe, you will want to make it again and again, adding different seasonings every time!

Homemade Gnocchi Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs potato, sweet potato, or pumpkin
  • 1 cup flour (I learned that this will vary wildly, I used about 4 cups of flour with the 1 lb 14 oz can of pumpkin.)
  • 1-2 eggs – add one at a time, mixing well after each addition
  • Pinch of cinnamon
  • Pinch of nutmeg

Directions:

  • First. bake or boil potatoes until soft. You want that mashed potato consistency to make this dough easier to mix. Boiling them is the traditional way to prepare potatoes for gnocchi, but a baked potato won’t contain as much water, and so wouldn’t need as much flour.
  • Mix ingredients together until they’re completely combined. You don’t want the consistency of the dough to be sticky. I just kept adding flour to mine until I was able to roll the dough with my hands. It’s possible that I needed to add so much extra flour because the canned pumpkin had a lot of water in it, whereas a baked potato would be drier. A boiled potato would probably need additional flour.

Here are two of mine, the one on the right was before I added enough flour. It stuck to my hands as I picked up, causing the odd shape. Still completely edible though!

  • Roll the dough out on a floured surface into a long snake (I did this is sections – small kitchen) and cut off individual pieces. You can shape them however you’d like, the first patch I just rolled them into balls, the second patch I cut off smaller pieces and rolled them into footballs.
  • Boil the balls of dough until they float. (you might need to help them off the bottom of the pot with a spatula.) Though I didn’t time them, Terra says it’s about 3 minutes.

Tah-Dah! Just out of the pot.

And that’s it! You’re done. They’re yummy plain, or with alfredo or tomato sauce.

Here are a couple of homemade topping options we used, for you to try (or turn into your own creation):

Fresh tomato salsa (I’m not really sure how else to describe it):

Ingredients:

  • tomato
  • kale
  • garlic
  • onion
  • salt and pepper
  • basil (optional)

In a hot pan  with a small amount of water or oil in the bottom, add chopped kale and onions. Cover, and give the kale a chance to cook down. Then, add diced tomato (I used three romas) and garlic. Salt and pepper to taste. After the tomatoes have cooked down some, it’s ready to top your gnocchi! Add some fresh basil to the mix for extra flavor.

This is the salsa we enjoyed the first day of gnocchi. It was de-li-cious.

Isaac’s Cashew Alfredo (no actual cream was harmed in the making of this sauce):

Ingredients:

  • cashews
  • soy milk
  • nutritional yeast
  • garlic

Add cashews to the blender (as much as you think you’ll need – you can always keep adding to the mix as you go). Add enough soy milk to cover the cashews. Add chopped garlic. Blend. You might need to add more soy milk if the mixture is too dry. add a pinch or two of nutritional yeast, and blend.

Isaac’s cashew alfredo tastes so much like real alfredo. I added chopped cilantro to mine here.

We had so much gnocchi, it lasted three days. The third night we created a weird avocado/white bean guacamole-type topping. It was good, but not as good as the above two (and I’m not sure I’d remember all that went in it…we were hungry, and just started throwing stuff together).

I’d love to hear about your experiences with this or other gnocchi recipes!

I want to try this again, with potato instead of pumpkin, and with different additions, such as cheese in the middle (gnocchi poppers? ;p ). If you have a suggestion I need to try, let me know!

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “I “gnocchi” you’re going to want to try this….

I want to hear from you! I love comments, and suggestions. Please leave all of yours, here:

