June 19th, photo of the day: A hairy pod

I love the little hairs on these pods.

Hurray for hairy peapods!

Originally, I was led to believe that the little yellow flowers on these bushes were Heather, but in looking into it more deeply, it seems that information was incorrect.

A few weeks ago, all the bushes around here were going crazy with yellow blossoms, like this:
And now, the blossoms have all developed into the little pea-pods like the one above.

I found this helpful PDF that discusses plants in the Willamette Valley (which isn’t too far away) and came to the conclusion that this plant is in fact Scotch Broom, or Cytisus scoparius. 

So, yay! I learned something new today.

Today = Success

What did you learn today?
Sweet Shot Tuesday with Kent Weakley

4 thoughts on “June 19th, photo of the day: A hairy pod

  1. Great photos! Your thumbnail at Sweet Shot Tuesday was intriguing- I felt so curious about the hairs… and now I know what Scotch Broom looks like- thank you! I love learning about plants!

I want to hear from you! I love comments, and suggestions. Please leave all of yours, here:

