October 19th, photo of the day: Leaf on a Log

This was fun.

I was playing around with long exposure times and moving water today when I saw a bit of highly photogenic leaf placement, on a rock, in the middle of the stream. I wanted to take its photo, from above, but I was without my regular tripod. All I had was my Joby Gorillapod. And a little ingenuity….

Here is the resultant photo:

And I HAD to share a pull back with you too! I’m pretty proud of myself, using what I had around me. Unfortunately what I didn’t have was my point-and-shoot, so I had to take my camera off the tripod to take a photo of the set up. Hence the missing camera:

I used the bendy legs of the grillapod to connect a few nearby sticks together, re-creating what the original caveman’s tripod may have looked like! ;)

And a bonus shot:

2 thoughts on “October 19th, photo of the day: Leaf on a Log

I want to hear from you! I love comments, and suggestions. Please leave all of yours, here:

