March 1st, Day 60: Kopachuck

Toby and I visited the town of Gig Harbor, including the Kopachuck State Park on the Puget Sound. It was a cloudy day, but we enjoyed having the whole beach to ourselves!

I have never seen so many sand dollars in one place!  98% of which were alive and well. It was so cool to see.

march 1 4 wm

macro monday 34 answer wm

We found all kinds of other neat stuff too. Shells, cool looking ripple marks in the sand, even a huge starfish (which made me jump when I saw it, ha)!

march 1 5 wm

march 1 2 wm

march 1 1 wm

march 1 3 wm

The Sound WANTED us to trespass, obviously.

The Sound WANTED us to trespass, obviously.

It was a great day, and I plan to visit again when it’s sunnier. Part of the park is located off shore, an island called Cutt’s Island. I’m not quite sure how we would get it down to the water, but I think it would be great fun to get the canoe in the water and go out to the island!
march 1 6 wm

And finally for today, my February compilation:

February

2 thoughts on “March 1st, Day 60: Kopachuck

  1. I use to take my kids down to Kopachuck a lot when they were young. I’ve always been amazed by the number of sand dollars there. There is a place to launch kayaks and canoes north of the park east of Raft Island (I believe it is where Rosedale Street hit the water). The trip from there to Cutts Island is about a mile. Love your photos; you did a good job of capturing the beach at low tide.

    • That’s so cool to know someone else has found this place! And, thank you for the boat launch information, I think it would be a lot of fun to camp at Kopachuck and canoe over to the island this summer. The park isn’t too far from where we live, but it’s nicely secluded and doesn’t feel like it’s close to the city.

I want to hear from you! I love comments, and suggestions. Please leave all of yours, here:

