April 6th, Day 96: Lemon Meringue Pie

I have wanted to try this for some time now, and so when I came across a magazine article with well described steps I thought I’d give it a try!

Even though I knew that it was going to consist primarily of eggs and sugar with a little butter thrown in for good measure, I wanted to follow the recipe to the letter since I have never made this type of this before.

This is my typical MO when trying any new recipe, really. I like to get a feel for what each ingredient does before I try to replace that ingredient with something ‘healthier.’

april 6 2 wm

april 6 wm

I’m proud of how it turned out. There are a couple things I will know to do differently if I make this in the future. april 6 3 wm

It was much more time consuming than I expected it to be, but it was a fun process; first the doubt that the steps would  actually work, then happiness when the custard started solidifying and the meringue began to fluff like they were supposed to.

I think I added too much lemon juice to the custard, which ultimately resulted in a less firm center then I would have liked, so next time I will have to watch out for this. And I don’t think I whipped the custard long enough before baking it, longer whipping would result in stiffer peaks, which would in turn look cooler. :) Things to remember for next time.

If you feel inspired to try this out for yourself, I followed the recipe in Fine Cooking Magazine, April/May 2012 edition.

And it was delicious! So delicious. I think I might go have another piece now.

3 thoughts on “April 6th, Day 96: Lemon Meringue Pie

I want to hear from you! I love comments, and suggestions. Please leave all of yours, here:

