April 8th, Day 98: Kale Starts

I’m getting so excited for planting season.

I found out recently I am the proud “owner” of a 4′ x 20′ raised bed in the Edgewood Community Garden! I guess applying for a plot back in September paid off! :)

I started some seeds a few weeks ago in anticipation of planting season, and most of the little seedlings are showing their little heads now.

april 8 2 wm

april 8 3 wm

april 8 4 wm

april 8 wm

I have restructured the planter box I made last year  into a roughly 4 foot by 4 foot box, since at this apartment we’re on the bottom floor and I have a little space in the dirt for such a thing.

My plan is to plant my leafy greens here; kale, lettuce, spinach, and other partial-shade plants, and use the community garden plot for the full-sun stuff such as tomatoes and peppers. I can’t wait for it to be warm enough to get these guys in the ground!

I want to hear from you! I love comments, and suggestions. Please leave all of yours, here:

